Arteta releases 25-man Arsenal squad for Europa League [Full List]

Arsenal manager, Mikel Arteta, has excluded Mesut Ozil, Sokratis and William Saliba from his Europa League squad.
The Gunners were required to name 25 players for the group stages of the European competition to UEFA today.
Arteta’s newest signing, Thomas Partey, makes the cut.
The arrival of Partey on deadline day, left Arsenal with 19 non-homegrown players in their squad.
UEFA rules state that a club’s ‘A list’ can contain a maximum of 25 players – including two goalkeepers – with a minimum of eight places for ‘locally-trained players’.

READ  Leicester City vs Arsenal: Arteta speaks on team selection for Carabao Cup

If a squad is submitted with fewer than eight locally-trained players, then the maximum number of players on the ‘A list’ must be reduced accordingly.
As a result, Arsenal named 17 non-homegrown players with Ozil and Sokratis the two to make way out of their senior stars.
The decision suggests the out-of-favour pair are also facing a similar fate when Arteta submits his Premier League squad before October 20 with similar guidelines.

READ  End SARS: Lifeless speech – Fayose attacks President Buhari

Arsenal’s Europa League Squad Goalkeepers: Bernd Leno, Runar Runarsson, Matt Macey, James Hillson, Dejan Iliev
Defenders: Hector Bellerin, Gabriel, Rob Holding, Cedric Soares, Shkodran Mustafi, Calum Chambers, Pablo Mari, David Luiz, Sead Kolasinac, Kieran Tierney
Midfielders: Dani Ceballos, Willian, Ainsley Maitland-Niles, Thomas Partey, Mohamed Elneny, Granit Xhaka
Forwards: Alexandre Lacazette, Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang, Nicolas Pepe

READ  Nigerian lawmaker reveals Rep members get N9.3m each as monthly pay

Source link


About admin 9407 Articles
A Passionate blogger, SEO Master, tech GURU